Managing Your Project
Stations and the data that they gather come to life within the FieldKit portal. The web portal organizes this information into projects. Projects in the portal are private by default and only visible to the project team members but can be set to public to be visible to the world.
You can explore your project by going to portal.fieldkit.org and logging in with the same account you use for the FieldKit app.
Within the portal, you will see the stations that belong to you, the projects you are a member of, and any projects that are set to be visible to the public.
When you set up a new station, it will be added to a Default FieldKit Project. You will be an administrator of this project and be able to add stations that you own as well as remove stations. You can also create a new project and add stations to that if desired. Stations can belong to only one project.
On your Project Dashboard, you will see details about your project, the stations associated with it, notes and comments on the project, and the project team.
Project administrators can edit the Project Details from the Project Dashboard by clicking “Edit Project.” These details include:
- Project name
- A short description of the project
- Project goal
- The header image for the project in the portal
- Project location
- Project start and end dates
- Tags for the project
- Project public/private status
- Show Stations/Hide Stations: Whether the exact location(s) of station(s) in the project appear on the map or not
Under Project Details, you will also see information showing the Indigenous territories associated with the project location under Native Lands: [Group Name]. This information comes from Native Land Digital. We encourage you to learn more about the land on which your FieldKit is deployed and its history.
Managing Your Stations
Many projects may only ever have one station associated with them, but larger projects involve dozens, even potentially hundreds of stations. In this case, you can add and remove stations from your project, as long as you are a project administrator and the station owner.
Clicking the blue “i” icon next to a station in your project takes you to the Station Details page. Here you will find more information about a particular station, including the deployment location and the battery power and readings from the last time it synced to the portal. If you are a project administrator, you can also add photos and field notes to the station details, which gives useful information and context for a station deployment.
Important Note: If you don’t see your station listed when logging in to your portal account, it’s possible that the station may “belong” to a different user. This can sometimes occur if different people are involved in setting up stations. If this happens, just send us a support ticket with the name of the station and the account it should be under, and we will be happy to help!
Managing Your Project Team
Projects can have more than one person associated with them, all part of a project team. Project teams have two roles: member and administrator. A project’s team members can view a project and data that belongs to it, comment on that project, sync station readings from their app to the portal, and sync some metadata. Project administrators can do everything a team member can do, plus edit the project details, manage the project team, add and remove stations from a project, and make a project public or private.
You can add team members to your project by scrolling to the bottom of your Project Dashboard, adding the email address of the person you wish to invite, selecting their role, and then clicking “Invite” – this will send an email invitation to the project. When you click on the link in that email (or when you visit the portal when logged in under that account), you will receive a prompt to accept or decline the invitation to that project.
You can also adjust the roles of existing team members under Manage Team. There is no limit to the number of administrators a project can have.